Yet another rep member of the Senate Commerce, Science, & Transportation Committee

• Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#1 NewfoundlandFrog

NewfoundlandFrog

Davey O'Brien

• Member - Restricted
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,021 posts

Posted 19 November 2012 - 01:13 PM

Marco Rubio on the age of the Earth:

I’m not a scientist, man. I can tell you what recorded history says, I can tell you what the Bible says, but I think that’s a dispute amongst theologians and I think it has nothing to do with the gross domestic product or economic growth of the United States. I think the age of the universe has zero to do with how our economy is going to grow. I’m not a scientist. I don’t think I’m qualified to answer a question like that. At the end of the day, I think there are multiple theories out there on how the universe was created and I think this is a country where people should have the opportunity to teach them all. I think parents should be able to teach their kids what their faith says, what science says. Whether the Earth was created in 7 days, or 7 actual eras, I’m not sure we’ll ever be able to answer that. It’s one of the great mysteries.

I guess Marco has never heard of the high school science concept of radiometric dating? Being one with Gov. Perry on science is not necessarily a strong position!

On climate change:

"I don't think there's the scientific evidence to justify it," Rubio said.

On the future:

Rubio has already gone to Iowa with 2016 in mind.